My love affair with the written word

It started before I knew it. By then I was buried way too deep. Who could blame me? It was too late; I was totally, irrevocably, head-over-heels in-love. With books, that is.

“All the best stories in the world are but one story in reality-the story of escape. It is the only thing which interests us all and at all times, how to escape.” --Arthur Christopher Benson

All those who are dear to me know how insatiable a bookworm I am. I just don’t read books, I devour them. At times I wonder why I love to read so much. Then comes a time when life happens and a job translates to having no time for a social life, no time for myself, no time for  reading and heck, even no time for sleep. Fortunately, I changed my career and I found time to breathe again; and to fill my ‘new found’ free time, I resorted to my favorite diversion of life–reading. Nothing kindles an old flame than absence. That’s the time I realized why I love to read.

What’s not to love? The knowledge earned while reading, the make-believe characters, the experiences you thought you gained and the things, places and situations you imagined. Reading is like creating a magical world that begins with the first word and ends with the last. Yet it never really ends, does it? The story continues in your mind and comes alive in your imagination, vivid and almost real to the touch. It’s like being in a faraway and dreamy place when you can be part of the story in whichever way you want; oftentimes unconsciously thinking about the characters and having a strange feeling that they know you and you know them just as well. Maybe even fancying being one of the characters yourself, relating to their situations, frustrations and personalities and secretly wishing that you are that character in real life and the story is your real world instead; now and then thinking that reading is an escape–escape from an unbearable real world to your perfect imaginary one. Sometimes even finding yourself in grief when a story comes to an end and finding it hard to let go of a story that’s so alive in your mind and will always be in your heart.

I can compare a book to a door, you know, the Monsters Inc.-type kind of door; for behind every door is a world, unseen and unknown until you open them.

A picture paints a thousand words but a thousand words paint a hundred thousand pictures.

Leave a Reply

